Question 1. What is PRIF?

  • Pacific Region Infrastructure Facility (PRIF) is a multi-partner infrastructure coordination and financing mechanism that coordinates development partner assistance to develop and maintain critical economic infrastructure in Pacific Island Countries (PICs).
  • Current PRIF Members are: Asian Development Bank (ADB), Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT), European Commission and European Investment Bank (EC/EIB), Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (NZMFAT), World Bank Group.
  • PRIF is a collaboration of development agencies with common goals.  This is not a legal agreement but a stated commitment to principles (see 3. below) and processes to better align activities and make the best use of combined resources to deliver infrastructure development in the Pacific. 
  • PRIF aims to achieve improved access, affordability and overall performance of infrastructure and development in the Pacific.
  • PRIF facilitates better development partner coordination which is important in realising more effective infrastructure and development outcomes. Better coordination makes the best use of the available resources of all development partners.
  • PRIF acknowledges that cooperation and coordination of development partners is important for improving aid effectiveness and development outcomes in the Pacific region.
  • PRIF is a practical application of the commitment of government and agency leaders to improve infrastructure services and development coordination as prescribed in the Paris Declaration, Accra Agenda for Action, the Pacific Plan, The Port Moresby Declaration, and the Cairns Compact for Strengthening Development Coordination in the Pacific.
  • PRIF has specialist working groups covering infrastructure sub-sectors: water and sanitation, energy, transport (including roads, aviation, and shipping), waste management and telecommunications.
  • PRIF covers 13 PICs, all of which are members of the Pacific Islands Forum. The current PRIF partner countries are the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.